Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (238) posts »

2016 Producers Guild Awards Honorees

Posted By Administration, Thursday, December 17, 2015

One of the awards season’s marquee events, the Producers Guild Awards celebrates the finest producing work of the year, and gives the Guild an opportunity to honor some of the living legends who have shaped our profession.

The list of recipients of honorary awards such as the Milestone Award, the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures and the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television and the Visionary Vanguard Award read like a roster of the industry’s biggest names, including icons such as Steven Spielberg, Jerry Bruckheimer, Brian Grazer, J.J. Abrams, Steven Bochco, Clint Eastwood, Sherry Lansing, Robert Evans, Roger Corman and Lorne Michaels, extending back to such legends as Alfred Hitchcock, Walt Disney, Billy Wilder and Louis B. Mayer.  This year's honorees are:

The Milestone Award: Jim Gianopulos

The Milestone Award is the PGA’s highest honor, recognizing an individual or team who has made historic contributions to the entertainment industry. In the past, the Guild has paid tribute to such industry leaders as Clint Eastwood, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Steven Spielberg, James Cameron, Ron Meyer, Bob & Harvey Weinstein, Bob Iger, and the 2015 recipient Jon Feltheimer, among others.

Jim Gianopulos: "One of the great benefits of this job is to work with incredibly talented filmmakers and executives. I am truly thrilled to be honored and to celebrate their achievements with this prestigious award.”

The David O. Selznick Achievement Award: David Heyman

The David O. Selznick Achievement Award recognizes a producer's outstanding body of work in motion pictures.  The 2015 recipient of the David O. Selznick Award was Gale Anne Hurd. Previous recipients include Stanley Kramer, Billy Wilder, Clint Eastwood, Jerry Bruckheimer, Brian Grazer, Laura Ziskin, Kathleen Kennedy & Frank Marshall, Scott Rudin and Steven Spielberg.

David Heyman:  "I am honored to receive this award, named after such a giant of the industry, from my peers at the PGA. And as I look at the list of past recipients I am deeply humbled to join an illustrious group of filmmakers who have been such an inspiration to me over the years.”


The Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television: Shonda Rhimes

The Norman Lear Achievement Award recognizes a producer's outstanding body of work in television.  The 2015 recipient of the Norman Lear Award was Mark Gordon. Previous recipients include Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Aaron Spelling, Carsey/Werner/Mandabach, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett and Norman Lear, himself.

Shonda Rhimes:  "To be the recipient of an award bestowed upon me by my peers in the PGA is truly an honor. The fact that the award is named after a legendary producer whose work has had such an inspiring effect on my growth as a writer is genuinely gratifying. I couldn’t be more grateful for this special recognition.”

The Stanley Kramer Award: The Hunting Ground

The Stanley Kramer Award was established in 2002 to honor a production, producer or other individual whose achievement or contribution illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues. Producer/director Stanley Kramer created some of the most powerful work in the history of American motion pictures, including such classics as Inherit The Wind, On The Beach, The Defiant Ones, and Guess Who's Coming To Dinner. The Stanley Kramer Award is determined by a seven-person committee appointed by the PGA’s Board of Directors, and operates independently of the Producers Guild Awards committee and the PGA staff.

Previous recipients of the Stanley Kramer Award include: An Inconvenient Truth, Hotel Rwanda, In America, Antwone Fisher, Precious, In The Land of Blood and Honey, Bully, Fruitvale Station and the 2015 honoree, The Normal Heart.

Producers Guild Awards Co-Chairs Michael De Luca and Jennifer Todd: "This powerful documentary gives a voice to the victims of student sexual assault – a national problem too long clouded in secrecy and shielded from public attention. The visceral reaction this film evokes has mobilized audiences worldwide to take action, and has served as a focal point in campus discussions and in revising institutional policies. The Producers Guild is honored to recognize The Hunting Ground and its contribution towards greater awareness of this national problem.”


The Visionary Vanguard Award: Industrial Light & Magic (ILM)

In prior years, the Guild presented its Visionary Award and Vanguard Award to separate recipients. This year, in light of the unique nature of ILM’s contributions to technology and entertainment, the Guild has combined the two awards into a single and distinctive honor. The Producers Guild 2016 Visionary Vanguard Award is sponsored by Delta Air Lines.

Lynwen Brennan:  "On behalf of all of us at Industrial Light & Magic I’d like to thank the Producers Guild for recognizing the company’s contribution to the film industry throughout the past 40 years. It’s been an incredible adventure since the day George Lucas first assembled his team of dreamers to create the special effects forStar Wars. Now, some 300 films later we’ve had the privilege of helping some of the mostvisionary filmmakers inthe industry create iconic moments that are forever part of our collective memory. I have been with ILM since 1986 and have been fortunate to have worked with some of the finest producers in the business,” added John Knoll. "The collaboration between filmmakers and the visual effects industry has never been closer, and it is great to be honored by our allies and friends that help us create the images that were dared to dream.”

On the evening of the Awards, Awards will be presented in the following competitive categories: Theatrical Motion Pictures, Documentary Motion Pictures, Animated Motion Pictures, Long-Form Television, Episodic Television - Drama, Episodic Television - Comedy, Non-Fiction Television, Live Entertainment & Talk Television, Competition Television.

Awards will also be announced in the following competitive categories: Children's Television, Sports Television, Digital Series.

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)