Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: General


Monday, July 11, 2011   (0 Comments)
Share |

Nominations now open for 2011 competition

LOS ANGELES (July 11, 2011) – The Producers Guild of America (PGA), in association with Variety and in partnership with Digital Hollywood, announced today the third annual Digital 25: Leaders in Emerging Entertainment awards, a program that recognizes 25 individuals and teams who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of digital entertainment and storytelling. Nominations are now open for the 2011 Digital 25 race. Submissions close July 22, 2011. To nominate an individual or team visit

The Digital 25 program strives to acknowledge producers or creators that have enabled the production and/or distribution of digital entertainment in the areas of Internet (Broadband), Interactive Television, Visual & Digital Effects, Console & PC (Multi-User Online) Gaming, Home Entertainment, Mobile and Digital Animation. Digital entertainment is changing the entertainment landscape and the PGA acknowledges contributions of the innovators, visionaries and producers in the various fields that contribute to the future of storytelling. Recipients must have either created a product, developed a service platform, or be the originator of a program property that advances the medium of digital storytelling. Visit for eligibility details.

Past recipients include such innovators as Rishi Chandra and Vincent Dureau for Google TV; Reed Hastings for Netflix; Kevin Macdonald and Ridley Scott for "Life in a Day”; Eddy Cue, Jonathan Ive and Steve Jobs for the Apple iPad; Richard Rosenblatt for Demand Media; James Cameron and Jon Landau for AVATAR; Jack Dorsey, Biz Stone and Evan Williams for Twitter; Steve Chen and Chad Hurley for YouTube; among many other visionaries. For a full list of past honorees please visit:

The 2011 Digital 25 recipients will be announced in the fall of 2011 and will be recognized by the PGA, in association with Variety and in partnership with Digital Hollywood, at a private reception at the Ritz Carlton in Marina Del Rey on Monday, October 17, 2011.

The Digital 25 team is led by co-chairs Marc Scarpa and Shawn Gold, with honorary committee chair Chris Thomes and committee members Bruce Cohen, Jeffrey Lerner, Mariana Danilovic and Alison Savitch. Non-PGA National or Council Board Members include Linda Buckley (Publishing Director, Variety) and Victor Harwood (Founder, Digital Hollywood). The Digital 25 Advisory Board is comprised of Josh Cohen (Founder, Tubefilter & the Streamy Awards), Chris DeWolfe (CEO, Mindjolt), Chris Di Cesare (Head of Marketing & Programming, YouTube), Ze Frank (CEO, Ze Frank Games Inc.), Ira Rubenstein (EVP Digital Marketing, 20th Century Fox), Doug Scott (President, Ogilvy Entertainment), Neil Vogel (CEO, Webby Awards) and Zao Yang (Creator, Farmville). Recipients will be selected by the Producers Guild of America membership as well as the advisory board.