Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: Producers Guild Awards

James L Brooks To Receive 2017 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television

Tuesday, November 8, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Andrew Mahlmann
Share |
LOS ANGELES (November 8, 2016) – The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today that longtime television and film producer, James L. Brooks, will be honored with the Guild’s 2017 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television. The award will be presented to Mr. Brooks at the 28th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on January 28, 2017 at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles.

Brooks has won 22 Emmys® and is a three-time Academy Award®-winner. He is the creative force behind such era-defining shows as “The Simpsons,” “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” and “Taxi.” His current project, EDGE OF SEVENTEEN, starring Hailee Steinfeld, will be in theaters this month.

Producers Guild Awards Chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal stated, “For decades, Jim Brooks has brought memorable characters, big laughs and above all, a profound sense of humanity into our homes. Jim is a producer whose work has influenced multiple generations of storytellers, so it’s an incredible privilege to be able to honor him with our Guild’s Norman Lear Achievement Award.”

Shonda Rhimes was the 2016 recipient of the PGA’s Norman Lear Award. Previous honorees include Mark Gordon, Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Aaron Spelling, Carsey/Werner/Mandabach, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett, and Norman Lear, himself.

James L. Brooks is a three-time Academy Award-winner and twenty-time Emmy Award-winner. He began his television career as a writer who then later produced television hits such as "Taxi," "The Mary Tyler Moore Show," "Rhoda," "Lou Grant," "Room 222," “The Tracy Ullman Show,” and "The Simpsons."

Brooks began working in film in 1979 when he wrote the screenplay for STARTING OVER which he co-produced with Alan J. Pakula. In 1983, Brooks wrote, produced, and directed TERMS OF ENDEARMENT for which he earned three Academy Awards. In 1987, he wrote, produced, and directed BROADCAST NEWS which won the New York Dramas Critics Award for best picture and best screenplay. In 1997, Brooks co-wrote, produced, and directed AS GOOD AS IT GETS starring Jack Nicholson, Helen Hunt, and Greg Kinnear. The film garnered 7 Academy Awards nominations, including Best Picture, and won Oscars for both Nicholson and Hunt for their performances.

Currently, Brooks is an executive producer on “The Simpsons” which debuted on Fox in 1989 and is the longest running prime time animated television series airing in the U.S. The influential, groundbreaking show has garnered 32 Emmy Awards to date and is the first animated program to earn a Peabody Award. Other recent TV credits include "The Critic," another prime time animated series starring Jon Lovitz; "Phenom" starring Judith Light, William Devane and Angela Goethals; and “What About Joan,” starring Joan Cusack.

Brook’s feature film credits also include SAY ANYTHING, WAR OF THE ROSES, BIG, BOTTLE ROCKET, JERRY MAGUIRE, SPANGLISH and THE SIMPSONS MOVIE. He recently produced EDGE OF SEVENTEEN written and directed by Kelly Fremon Craig for STX Productions. It stars Hailee Steinfeld, Woody Harrelson, and Kyra Sedgwick and will be released in November 2016.

The Producers Guild of America is the non-profit trade group that represents, protects and promotes the interests of all members of the producing team in film, television and new media. The Producers Guild has more than 7,500 members who work together to protect and improve their careers, the industry and community by providing members with employment opportunities, seeking to expand health benefits, promoting fair and impartial standards for the awarding of producing credits, as well as other education and advocacy efforts such as encouraging sustainable production practices. For more information and the latest updates, please visit Producers Guild of America websites and follow on social media:

Twitter: @ProducersGuild
Hashtag: #PGAwards