Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: Producers Guild Awards

Producers Guild Of America Sets January 22, 2011 as Date for 22nd Annual PGA Awards Ceremony

Thursday, March 25, 2010  
Share |
LOS ANGELES (March 25, 2010) - The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today that the 22nd Annual PGA Awards, honoring excellence in motion picture and television production, will take place on Saturday, January 22, 2011.

In 1990, the PGA held the first-ever Golden Laurel Awards, which were renamed the Producers Guild Awards in 2002. Richard Zanuck and Lili Fini Zanuck took home the award for Best Produced Motion Picture for "Driving Miss Daisy,” establishing the Guild awards as a bellwether for the Oscars®. This year, the PGA awarded "The Hurt Locker” with its Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures. The film was also awarded Best Picture at the 2010 Academy Awards®.

Other 2010 PGA Award winners included: "UP” for Animated Theatrical Motion Picture; "The Cove” for Documentary Theatrical Motion Picture; for television, "30 Rock” received the Danny Thomas Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television - Comedy; and "Mad Men” received the Norman Felton Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television - Drama.

About the Producers Guild of America
The Producers Guild of America is the non-profit trade group that represents, protects and promotes the interests of all members of the producing team in film, television and new media. The PGA has over 4,000 members who work together to protect and improve their careers, the industry and community by providing members health benefits, enforcing workplace labor laws, the creation of fair and impartial standards for the awarding of producing credits, as well as other education and advocacy efforts. The PGA hosts important industry events including the annual PGA Awards and the Produced By Conference. Visit for more information.