Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: Producers Guild Awards

The PGA Creates Two New Accolades In Long-Form Television For 2019 Awards

Wednesday, August 8, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

Former David L. Wolper Award for Long-Form Television is Split to Acknowledge Producers in Separate Categories for Limited Series and Streamed/Televised Movies

LOS ANGELES (August 8, 2018) – The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today its creation of two separate accolades in the field of long-form television, both of which will be presented on stage at the 2019 Producers Guild Awards. The former David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer in Long-Form Television has been renamed The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television, while a new award has been created to separately acknowledge distinguished work with The Award for Outstanding Producer of Streamed or Televised Movies. The 2019 Producers Guild Awards takes place Saturday, January 19, 2019 at The Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles.

“Long-form television has exploded in recent years with exciting, daring new programming and new voices. This shift in our industry has given producers the opportunity to deepen their skills in creating limited series shows and streamed or televised movies. By expanding our Producers Guild Awards long-form program category into two separate categories, we acknowledge their stellar work in both genres,” said Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher, Presidents of the PGA. 

Details for the 2019 Producers Guild Awards regarding eligibility and deadlines for The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television and The Award for Outstanding Producer of Streamed or Televised Movies are outlined below. Complete eligibility requirements are available at under the Rules Tab (“2019 Awards Rules – Long Form Programs”).


Eligibility of Limited Series or Streamed/Televised Movie. A Limited Series or Streamed/Televised Movie may be submitted for awards consideration if it originally released in the United States between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018 (“Eligibility Period”) and otherwise meets the following eligibility requirements.


Limited series: In accordance with the 70th Primetime Emmy Awards rules promulgated by the Television Academy (“TA Rules”), a Limited Series is defined as a program with two (2) or more episodes with a total running time of at least one hundred and fifty (150) program minutes that tells a complete, non-recurring story, and does not have an on-going storyline and/or main characters in subsequent seasons. At least 50% of the episodes must originally release within the Eligibility Period. The Limited Series submitted must not previously have been included on any Producers Guild Awards ballot.


Streamed/Televised movie: In accordance with the TA Rules, a Streamed/Televised movie is defined as an original program, which tells a story with a beginning, middle and end, and is originally released in one part. The movie must not have had a theatrical release prior to its streamed or televised release and must not previously have been included on any Producers Guild Awards ballot.


Eligibility of Producer.  A producer may be considered for awards eligibility only if she or he has been contractually credited and credited onscreen as an “Executive Producer,” “Co-Executive Producer,” “Supervising Producer,” “Producer,” or “Produced By” (“Eligible Titles”) for the Limited Series or Streamed/Televised movie. Membership in the PGA, a non-profit organization, is not required for – and is irrelevant to – the awards eligibility determination.


Submission Deadline. To apply to have the Limited Series or Streamed/Televised Movie on the ballot, the Production Company (the copyright owner or other person or business entity legally authorized to designate the producing credits that appear onscreen in the release of the series or streamed/televised movie within the United States) must complete a Notice of Producing Credits Form at and submit the program within the Long-Form Program category by no later than September 27, 2018.



On Saturday, January 19, 2019, the Producers Guild of America will honor excellence in motion picture, television and digital productions, as well as some of the living legends who shape the profession at its 30th Annual Producers Guild Awards. Producers Donald De Line (“The Italian Job,” “Ready, Player One”) and Amy Pascal (“The Post,” “Spider-Man: Homecoming”) return as Awards Chairs for the third consecutive year. The event will take place at The Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles.

In addition, the Guild will host its third Annual PGA East Coast Celebration of 2019 Producers Guild Awards Nominees on Monday, January 14, 2019. Additional details for the New York pre-event will be announced at a later date.

Nominees for the Producers Guild Awards are endorsed as the predictor of eligibility for producing honors given by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), the British Academy of Film and Television (BAFTA), the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA), and the Television Academy. Considered a strong prognosticator for the Best Picture Oscar®, the announcement of the Guild’s Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures is one of the most eagerly-anticipated of the season.