Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: Producers Guild Awards

Documentary Motion Picture Nominees Announced For 2019 Producers Guild Awards

Tuesday, November 20, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announces today its 2019 Documentary Motion Pictures nominees that will advance in the final voting process for the 30th Annual Producers Guild Awards presented by General Motors. The Producers Guild Awards honor excellence in motion picture and television productions, as well as some of the living legends who shape the profession. The remaining nominations for Theatrical Motion Pictures, Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures, Television Series/Specials, Limited Series Television, Streamed/Televised Movies, and Sports, Children’s and Short Form Programs will be announced January 4, 2019.

The ceremony for the 2019 Producers Guild Awards presented by General Motors takes place on January 19, 2019 at The Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles where the final winners will be announced.

The films nominated for the Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures are listed below in alphabetical order:

·       The Dawn Wall

·       Free Solo

·       Hal

·       Into the Okavango

·       RBG

·       Three Identical Strangers

·       Won’t You Be My Neighbor?


* These films are in the process of being vetted for individual producer eligibility.

During the awards show, the Producers Guild also will present special honors to individual producers, including recognizing President of Marvel Studios Kevin Feige with its David O. Selznick Achievement Award. The 2019 Producers Guild Awards Event Chairs are Donald De Line and Amy Pascal.

In 1990, the Producers Guild held the first-ever Golden Laurel Awards, which were renamed the Producers Guild Awards in 2002. Richard Zanuck and Lili Fini Zanuck took home the award for Best Produced Motion Picture for “Driving Miss Daisy,” establishing the Guild’s awards as a bellwether for the Oscars.