Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: Producers Guild Awards

Marta Kauffman To Receive Norman Lear Achievement Award at 2020 Producers Guild Awards

Monday, October 28, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

LOS ANGELES (October 28, 2019) - The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today Marta Kauffman will be honored with the Guild’s Norman Lear Achievement Award. Kauffman will receive the award at the 31st Annual Producers Guild Awards on Saturday, January 18, 2020 at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles. 

The Norman Lear Award celebrates powerhouse producers who have made a remarkable impact on the art and craft of television, including previous honorees Ryan Murphy, James L. Brooks, Shonda Rhimes, Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams and many more. 

“Marta is a singular talent who has created characters and stories that have resonated throughout the world and across generations,” said Producers Guild of America Presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher. “Her deep understanding of emotion, comedy and human drama creates the perfect recipe for television, and audiences can’t get enough. Her impact on pop culture, and on television history, is undeniable.” 

"I am deeply honored to receive this award from my peers at the PGA, particularly as it's named for a legendary producer who has impacted my career from the beginning," said Kauffman. "Thank you to the Producers Guild for this meaningful recognition." 

Kauffman is the Emmy and Golden Globe-winning television writer, producer and showrunner behind Friends and Grace and Frankie, one of the most successful television shows of all time and Netflix’s longest running original series, respectively. During its 10-year run, Friends garnered 63 Emmy nominations, winning Outstanding Comedy Series in 2002. Through Bright/Kauffman/Crane Productions, which she co-founded with writing partners David Crane and Kevin Bright in 1993, she also produced hit sitcoms Veronica's Closet, starring Kirstie Alley and Jesse, starring Christina Applegate. In 2015, Kauffman founded Okay Goodnight with industry veterans Robbie Tollin and Hannah KS Canter. Under this banner, she is the creator and executive producer of Grace and Frankie, currently in production on its seventh and final season, as well as documentary Seeing Allred about feminist firebrand Gloria Allred, currently streaming on Netflix. Okay Goodnight and Kauffman currently have numerous projects in various stages of development at multiple networks. 

Amy Sherman-Palladino was the 2019 recipient of the PGA’s Norman Lear Award. Additional past honorees include Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Aaron Spelling, Carsey/Werner/Mandabach, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett and Norman Lear himself.

Sponsors of the 2020 Producers Guild Awards include: General Motors, Official Automotive Partner; Delta, Official Airline Partner; GreenSlate, Cocktail Reception sponsor.