Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: General

PGA Announces Opening of Submissions for Digital-VIP

Thursday, August 9, 2012  
Share |

click to view digital-vip homepage 

New Program Honors Visionaries, Innovators and Producers of Digital Storytelling

LOS ANGELES (August 8, 2012) – The Producers Guild of America announced today the opening of submissions for a new initiative and gala awards event later this year – Digital V.I.P. – to honor nine "Visionaries, Innovators and Producers” who have made significant contributions to the advancement of digital entertainment and storytelling during the past year.

"During the past decade, the Producers Guild has demonstrated a strong commitment to new media that is unique among the major entertainment guilds,” said Shawn Gold and Marc Scarpa, Co-chairs of Digital V.I.P. "In that spirit, we are proud to present our new ‘Digital V.I.P.’ program honoring visionaries, innovators and producers who have made significant contributions to digital entertainment and storytelling.”

"The Producers Guild of America is home to the leading creators of film, television and new media,” said Producers Guild President Mark Gordon. "Producers are the engine at the heart of the entertainment industry, and Digital V.I.P. honorees are the influential decision-makers on the front lines of new media, gathering resources, developing technologies, creating stories and making digital entertainment happen.”

Digital V.I.P. Selection Criteria

Visionaries – three recipients – those who have brought forth new ideas about the creative application of technology to advance storytelling across all media.

Innovators – three recipients – those who have developed new methods or technology that enables the production of storytelling.

Producers – three recipients – those who have created content whose reach, execution and influence has advanced the audience experience.

Membership in the Producers Guild is not a requirement for eligibility.

Digital V.I.P. Nominations and Submissions

August 8 – Nominations open

September 4 – Nominations close

Nominations must be submitted between Wednesday, August 8 and 5:00 p.m. PDT on Tuesday, September 4. Late submissions will not be considered.

PGA members may submit nominations via the Digital V.I.P. website at

Non-PGA members who are accredited representatives of digital storytellers may submit nominations to Christopher de Haan at

The Producers Guild Digital V.I.P. committee will determine the honorees in conjunction with Producers Guild President Mark Gordon and a distinguished list of Industry Advisory Board members.

Digital V.I.P Committee members include: Co-chairs Shawn Gold, Marc Scarpa, and Chris Thomes (Producers Guild National Board, Vice President of the Producers Guild New Media Council), in addition to Laura Allen (New Media Council), Dina Benadon (Producers Guild National Board, New Media Council), Bruce Cohen (Producers Guild National Board, Producers Council), Jeffrey Lerner (Associate Producers Council) and Michael Palmieri (New Media Council).

Industry Advisory Board members include Jason Calacanis (Mahalo), Sharon Calahan (Pixar), Illeana Douglas (Producer, Actress), Dick Glover (Funny or Die), Quincy Jones Jr. (QD3 Entertainment), John Rubey (AEG) and Chris Williams (Maker Studios), among others.

Digital V.I.P. honorees will also be featured as part of the Producers Guild Digital V.I.P. Speaker Series at Soho House in Los Angeles which will run from November 2012 through June 2013.

For more information, please visit or email To become a sponsor, please contact Diane Salerno at 310.440.7804 or

About the Producers Guild of America

The Producers Guild of America is the non-profit trade group that represents, protects and promotes the interests of all members of the producing team in film, television and new media. The Producers Guild has more than 5,000 members who work together to protect and improve their careers, the industry and community by providing members with employment opportunities, seeking to expand health benefits, promoting fair and impartial standards for the awarding of producing credits, as well as other education and advocacy efforts such as encouraging sustainable production practices. Visit for more information.