Post a Job Join The Guild
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register

A group of motion picture producers join together to form the Screen Producers Guild, the earliest forerunner of the PGA. William Perlberg is chosen as the group’s first President.

A collection of television producers emulates their motion picture counterparts, forming the Television Producers Guild. Ben Brady is elected President.

Ben Brady and Screen Producers Guild President Walter Mirisch guide their organizations to an historic merger, creating the Producers Guild of America.

The PGA enters into its final collective bargaining agreement to date, with Paramount and Universal studios. Following the expiration of this contract, the PGA will act as a trade organization, rather than a labor union.

The American Association of Producers (AAP) is formed by a group of associate producers in videotape television. Gayle Maffeo is chosen as President.

After negotiations with the studios and the approval of the leadership of IASTE, the PGA secures Health & Welfare and Pension benefits under the Motion Picture and Television Industry Plan for producers of theatrical motion pictures and prime-time television programs. Over the years, this coverage is extended to increasingly wider segments of the producing community.

The first-ever Golden Laurel Awards (later the Producers Guild Awards) are held in 1990. Richard Zanuck and Lili Fini Zanuck take home the award for Best Produced Motion Picture for Driving Miss Daisy, establishing the Guild awards as a bellwether for the Oscars.

The PGA establishes its Seminar Program, providing unique learning opportunities for its members through panel discussions and hands-on workshops.

The PGA and AAP merge into a single organization, marking the most radical shift in the Guild’s membership and direction since the 1960s. For the first time, the PGA represents the entire producing team, from producers and executive producers to post-production supervisors and production coordinators. Kathleen Kennedy and Tim Gibbons are selected as Co-Presidents, governing throughout the merger period.

A series of amendments to the PGA Constitution creates the New Media Council, representing producers of web-based projects, games, CD-ROMs and a variety of other digital and new media. A separate amendment gives the New York-based PGA East chapter permanent representation on the Board of Directors.

The Motion Picture Academy of Arts and Sciences agrees to utilize the Producers Guild’s standards of eligibility and arbitration process in determining nominees for the Oscar™ award for Best Picture.

The PGA Diversity Committee offers the first of its ongoing summer Producing Workshops, supporting aspiring producers of diverse films and television programs a 10-week A-Z "crash course” in the realities of the production process, including development, packaging, budgeting, marketing and new media.  The Workshop continues to be offered annually, free of charge.

The Producers Guild intervenes on behalf of producing team members working under illegal conditions at E! Entertainment Television, negotiating a settlement with the network that restores overtime pay (retroactive to three years prior) for associate producers and other non-exempt team members.

The first Produced By Conference is mounted at Sony Pictures Studios.  The event is a sell-out in its inaugural year, bringing together over 1,000 attendees, speakers, guests and sponsors  for a weekend of groundbreaking seminars, panel discussions, technology demonstrations and networking events.